

Board of Trustees Meeting August 15, 20242:00PM SC First Steps 636 Rosewood Drive Columbia, SC 29201 Minutes

Trustees Present (14): Mary Lynne Diggs Rep. ShannonErickson Dr. Matthew Ferguson John Hayes Sen. Greg Hembree Mike Leach Dave Morley, Chairman Janie Neeley

Mary Anne Scott Dr. Edward Simmer Wes Wooten Sue Williams Dr. Amy Williams, Vice Chair Trustees Absent (9) Rep. Terry Alexander Dr. Robert Bank Jacque Curtin Constance Holloway Robert Kerr Jesica Mackey Sen. Gerald Malloy



Mr. Morley called the meeting to order at 2:06 p.m.

Mr. Morley requested a motion to adopt the agenda. Mr. Wooten provided the motion, seconded by Dr. Simmer, and the motion was unanimously approved.

Mr. Morley asked for a motion to approve the June 20, 2024 minutes. Mr. Wooten provided the motion, seconded by Dr. Simmer and the motion was unanimously approved.

Chairman Morley reported on the Executive Committee where he shared that the committee met to take action on Local Partnership Executive Director compensation submissions. These actions were taken on behalf of the full board due to their time sensitivity. Effective July 1, Local Partnership Executive Director compensation decisions will go through the formal approval process and will be reviewed twice per year. Mr. Morley provided an update on the Executive Director search process.

Mr. Wooten made a motion to adopt the consent agenda and seconded by Dr. Simmer. Mr. Barnes provided information on the revised formula allocation for the Local Partnerships. T he motion was unanimously approved.

- Motion: To approve the Revised Formula Allocation for the Local Partnerships for 2024-25 based on additional funds appropriated by the state for the 2024-25 fiscal year. (Finance and Administration Committee recommends)
- b. Motion: To approve the corrective action determination as presented for the seven (7) local partnerships identified (Abbeville, Aiken, Barnwell, Dorchester, Georgetown, Kershaw, and Richland counties). As a result of corrective action, the local partnerships affected are not eligible to apply for competitive or targeted grants until they have satisfactorily resolved the deficiencies note d on their corrective action plan as



ongoing implementation. Dr. Richard shared the plans for the 2025-2030 strategic plan development and dates of listening sessions for the board to participate in.

Mr. Barnes gave an)\IGYXMZI (MepdrQMA&A/LIWTVSZMHIH ER YTHEXI SR XLI EKIRG from the SC Department of Education. He also provided updates on the Act 81 implementation process for Local Partnership Executive Director hiring, salary, and evaluations, their core personnel policies, and their transition to PEBA. He shared the leadership change at Richland County First Steps. Mr. Barnes shared 4K data for the 2023-2024 school year, and 4K data for the upcoming 2024-2025 school year. Ms. Strickland shared highlights from the recent 4K Academy. Mr. Barnes gave an update on grants awarded to local partnerships for FY2024-2025. He announced new team members and shared the current job vacancies.

Mr. Wooten made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Dr. Simmer, and the motion was unanimously approved.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:48 p.m. by Chairman Morley.



Early Childhood Advisory Council Meeting August 15, 2024, immediately following the SCFS Board of Trustees Meeting SC First Steps Minutes

Council Members Present (16): Mary Lynne Diggs Rep. Shannon Erickson Dr. Matthew Ferguson John Hayes Sen. Greg Hembree Mike Leach David Lisk Dave Morley, Chairman Janie Neeley

Attendees (75)

Mark Barnes Avian Jones Alissa Durham Alonzo Johnson Amanda Bailey Amber Gillum Amy Breault Anita Ellison Porter Anna Layton April Cromer Arthur Brewton Barbara Casper Berry Kelly Betty Washington **BJ** Norris Long Brian Butler Chelsea Adamson Chelsea Richard **Cheryl Scales** Cindy Galloway Cindy Hurst Cindy Riley Crystal Williams Darlyene Gillie David Lisk David O'Kelly

Dorian Young Elaine Gentry Elizabeth Dudek Emma Matzko Felicia O'Neal Francis Rushton Gina Beebe Harriett Clarke Jaiden Branch Janice Kilburn Jeanette Samuel John Browne Jon Artz Joy Mazur Julie Greer Kaitlvn Richards Karen Oliver Kate Roach Kathy Fitzgerald Kenna Hoover Kerry Cordan Kristen Martocchio Kristine Jenkins LaKesha Meredith Lamikka Samuel LaMyra Sanders-Dukes

Dorothy Priester Roger Pryor Mary Anne Scott Dr. Edward Simmer Wes Wooten Dr. Amy Williams, Vice Chair Sue Williams Council Members Absent (9): Rep. Terry Alexander Dr. Robert Bank Jacque Curtin Constance Holloway Robert Kerr Jesica Mackey Sen. Gerald Malloy Jack McBride Dr. Brenda Williams

Lexi Jones Lis Guimaraes Maebelle Williams Martha Strickland Melissa Griffin Mildred Daniels Patricia McRoy Pauletta Plowden Pauline Whiting Rachel Amrhein Renee Williams **Rudilly Dubose** Sabrenna Long Salisa McTeer Sarah Eargle Shannon Allen Shayla Pettigrew Sheila Cornwell Stacy Greenwalt **Tiffany Outlaw** Tyshica McConner Veronica Reynolds Victoria Belin

DEMILIAR CSULLARE



Surveillance Survey for the stated. Ms. Williams shared that all 7 home visiting models are now available on the First5SC portal.

Ms. Gillum shared that another round of grant applications for PDG were submitted at the end of July. If awarded, South Carolina would receive \$8 million for 3 years. Only 10 states in the count